Welcome to my website!

Hello and welcome! My name is Kelly Laycock, and I want to help you improve your writing. Whatever your goals, whether it be to publish your first novel, clean up your thesis or just get an outside opinion on your short story, I’m here to offer some professional guidance. I’ve been an editor for the last seven years, and I’ve learned some of the tricks of the trade of publishing (I worked for a children’s book publisher for more than eight years in a variety of roles, from being the warehouse manager right up to production editor!) I work with authors like you to help perfect your manuscripts and make them as tailored to your audience as possible. I’ve worked as a substantive editor, a copy editor and a proofreader on a multitude of projects, sometimes all three at once.

I hold a Bachelor’s degree in Applied Linguistics from the University of Victoria, where I also worked as a private English tutor and conversation club leader for a couple of ESL schools. Language has always held my interest, and I’ve studied both Spanish and French. I had the opportunity to be a translation coordinator for a time, working with professional translators to produce high-quality translations of teen fiction. Throughout all of this, I’ve learned that language is a fluid, ever-changing being, and conventions are constantly being updated to keep up with it! I know where to find all the most current trends in language use, and my keen eye for detail lets me apply those conventions efficiently and effectively.

Now that I’ve tooted my own horn, why don’t you decide for yourself. Take a peek at my resume, and check out my series Tips from the Editor, which I write as a guest blogger for the Law Society of Saskatchewan Library blog, Legal Sourcery. Don’t forget to let me know what you think!

Leave a comment